Nicaragua - Single Origin

Nicaragua - Single Origin

Regular price
$13.50
Sale price
$13.50
Unit price
per 

TASTING NOTES:
sweet, ripe strawberries

BBCR developed an amazing direct trade relationship with Perdido Coffee in Nicaragua with the second release of the Coffee Origin Project. We are now pleased to have add their natural single origin coffee from Nicaragua as an exclusive offering to our lineup of specialty coffee.  

Perdido Coffee is home to several Nicaraguans who help plant, grow and harvest specialty grade coffee. Surrounded by rolling green mountains, blanketed in sunshine and lush forests, the Perdido Coffee fincas are not your average coffee farms. Thanks to unique micro climates found at each Perdido finca or farm, coffees of 7 different varietals flourish under the watchful eye of owner/operator Gil Almeida and his incredible staff and partners. Perdido employees are fed, housed and payed higher than average wages. It is because of the care that goes into not only the coffee plants but also the Nicaraguans that live and work on both fincas, that Perdido Coffee is able to offer such a high quality coffee bean.

Perdido Coffee is made up of two very distinctive fincas: Finca El Cristal and Finca El Perdido.

Finca El Cristal sits high atop a mountain between 1100 and 1400 Meters Above Sea Level (MASL). It is a cooler, more unpredictable, and often windy and rainy farm. The cooler temperatures at higher elevation gives the coffee trees a longer growing season while the additional moisture contributes, in no small part, to growing a larger more flavourful coffee cherry that ripens slower than lower altitude cherries. A prime example would be the Anacafe species.

Finca El Perdido is situated between 700-900 MASL. It boasts old-growth hardwood trees and produces most of the natural and honey processed coffees amongst cascading mountain streams in a dense, humid jungle. The warmer humid climate is conducive to producing a sugary-sweet cherry around the coffee seeds. Varietals grown include (but are not limited to) Catimor, Caturra, and Catuai.

From farm to cup, we invite you to discover coffee from Perdido Coffee in Nicaragua. This coffee is sourced from Nicaragua 🇳🇮 and each batch is freshly roasted to order in Gatineau, Quebec.

ROASTER'S NOTES:

  • Species: 100% Arabica (Catimor, Catuai, Caturra and Maragopie)
  • Farm: El Cristal (1100 - 1400 MASL) et El Perdido (700 - 900 MASL)
  • Process: Anaerobically Fermented (3-5 days)
  • Cupping Score: 86.5

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
0%
(0)
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
P
Patrick
Great coffee

Fruity but also sweet/juicy so it doesn't seem too acidic.

Nicaragua - origine unique

Nicaragua - origine unique

Prix normal
$13.50
Prix réduit
$13.50
Prix unitaire
par 

NOTES DE DÉGUSTATION :
fraises douces et mûres

BBCR a développé une relation commerciale directe exceptionnelle avec Perdido Coffee au Nicaragua pour la deuxième sortie du Projet de l'origine du café. Nous avons ajouté en exclusivité leur café d'origine unique du Nicaragua, de traitement naturel, à notre gamme de cafés de spécialité.

« Perdido Coffee » accueille plusieurs Nicaraguayens qui participent à la plantation, à la culture et à la récolte de café de spécialité. Entourées de montagnes verdoyantes, couvertes de soleil et de forêts luxuriantes, les fincas de « Perdido Coffee » ne sont pas des exploitations caféières ordinaires. Grâce aux microclimats uniques de chaque finca (ou ferme) de Perdido, les cafés de 7 variétés différentes s'épanouissent sous l'œil attentif de Gil Almeid, le propriétaire/exploitant, et son équipe formidable. Les employés de Perdido sont nourris, logés et reçoivent un salaire supérieur à la moyenne. C'est grâce aux soins apportés non seulement aux plantes de café, mais aussi aux Nicaraguayens qui vivent et travaillent dans les deux fincas, que « Perdido Coffee » est en mesure d'offrir un café de si haute qualité.

« Perdido Coffee » se compose de deux fincas très distinctes : Finca El Cristal et Finca El Perdido.

Finca El Cristal est située au sommet d'une montagne entre 1100 et 1400 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Il s'agit d'une exploitation plus fraîche, plus imprévisible, et souvent venteuse et pluvieuse. Les températures plus fraîches en altitude permettent aux caféiers de bénéficier d'une saison de croissance plus longue, tandis que l'humidité supplémentaire contribue, dans une large mesure, à la culture de cerises de café plus grosses et plus savoureuses qui mûrissent plus lentement que les cerises de basse altitude. La variété Anacafe est un bon exemple.

Finca El Perdido est située entre 700 et 900 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Elle possède des arbres feuillus anciens et produit la plupart des cafés naturels et des cafés traités au miel parmi les cascades de ruisseaux de montagne dans une jungle dense et humide. Le climat chaud et humide est idéal pour produire une cerise douce et sucrée autour des graines de café. Les variétés cultivées incluent (mais ne sont pas limitées à) Catimor, Caturra, et Catuai.

De la ferme à la tasse, nous vous invitons à découvrir le café de qualité spécialisée de « Perdido Coffee ». Ce café provient de Nicaragua 🇳🇮 et chaque lot est fraîchement torréfié sur commande à Gatineau, au Québec.

NOTES DU TORRÉFACTEUR :

  • Variété : 100% Arabica (Catimor, Catuai, Caturra et Maragopie)
  • Ferme : El Cristal (1100m - 1400m au-dessus du niveau de la mer) et El Perdido (700m - 900m au-dessus du niveau de la mer) 
  • Procédé : Fermentation anaérobique (3-5 jours)
  • Note de la dégustation de café : 86.5

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
0%
(0)
100%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
P
Patrick
Great coffee

Fruity but also sweet/juicy so it doesn't seem too acidic.