Go toLog in Go toSign up

About BBCR

MEET THE TEAM

Brown Bag Coffee Roasters consists of hard working individuals that aim to bring you quality products in a timely manner, and LOVE doing what they do.

Shann 
Despite earning his living in the tech industry for nearly two decades, Shann Bosnell (pronounced Shawn) wanted to forge a new entrepreneurial path when he decided to strike out on his own in December 2016.
Even though Shann's job was helping customers manage technology, his passion was coffee. Shann had been roasting beans in his Gatineau home for several years, supplying friends and family with coffee. The decision to jump into the coffee-roasting business was a natural evolution and Brown Bag Coffee Roasters was born.
 
Christiaan 
Born and raised in South Africa, Christiaan worked as a barista and roaster's assistant in a roastery café. In 2018 he met Shann and since then, the two have shared their passion for coffee and the various processes the beans undergo during their "lifespan" with great admiration. In 2020 Christiaan joined Brown Bag Coffee Roasters' production team as Head Roaster where he roasts coffee (surprise, surprise), experiments with profiles through cuppings and offers up his barista skills for training to wholesale customers and individual clients alike.

Now in its fourth year of operations, BBCR's team includes many talented baristas that run the front end of the roastery, including serving customers, fulfilling orders, bagging and delivering coffee. Current team members include Kianna, Anika, Marie-Pierre and Savannah. Behind the scenes, marketing materials and social media for BBCR are handled by Ben and Dana. 

What an awesome team!

 

OUR ROASTERS

The heart of our roasting operations! BBCR boasts a 10lb Artisan XE Deluxe with a 55lb/hour roasting capacity and state of the art data collection software that allows us to capture up to 6 different readings at once. This allows repeatability ensuring we provide stunning consistency with every roast. The Artisan XE utilizes Fluid Bed technology, bringing top notch industry standards that you have come to expect from Brown Bag Coffee Roasters. The roaster is manufactured by our partner, Coffee Crafters, recognized as producing some of the highest quality roasters using the latest technologies currently available.

artisanXe

You can rest assured that delivering you the highest and healthiest quality coffee is our top priority which we have thought about since our very inception, and not as an afterthought.

Want to see them in action? We invite you to reach out to book a studio tour, and roast up some fresh coffee as you get a first hand look at what we are up to.

Go toLog in Go toSign up

À propos de nous

La Brûlerie artisanale Brown Bag est composé de personnes qui travaillent avec passion pour vous offrir des produits de qualité dans les meilleurs délais et qui ADORENT faire ce qu'elles réalisent.

L'équipe de la Brûlerie artisanale Brown Bag

Shann 
Bien qu'il ait gagné sa vie dans le secteur de la technologie pendant près de deux décennies, Shann Bosnell (prononcez Shawn) voulait se forger une nouvelle voie entrepreneuriale lorsqu'il a décidé de se lancer à son compte en décembre 2016. Même si le travail de Shann consistait à aider les clients à gérer la technologie, sa passion était le café. Shann torréfiait des grains dans sa maison de Gatineau depuis plusieurs années, fournissant du café à ses amis et à sa famille. La décision de se lancer dans la torréfaction du café était une évolution naturelle et la Brûlerie artisanale Brown Bag était né.

Christiaan 
Né et élevé en l'Afrique du Sud, Christiaan a travaillé comme barista et assistant du torréfacteur dans un café. En 2018, il a rencontré Shann et depuis, les deux partagent avec une grande admiration leur passion pour le café et les différents processus que les grains subissent au cours de leur "durée de vie". En 2020, Christiaan a rejoint l'équipe de production de la Brûlerie artisanale Brown Bag en tant que torréfacteur principale, où il torréfie le café (surprise, surprise), expérimente les profils par le biais de cuppings et offre ses compétences de barista pour la formation des clients en gros et des clients individuels.

La Brûlerie est maintenant dans sa quatrième année d'activité et l’équipe comprend de nombreux baristas talentueux qui s'occupent des services aux clients, de l'exécution des commandes et de la livraison du café. Les membres actuels de l'équipe sont Kianna, Anika, Marie-Pierre et Savannah. En arrière-plan, Ben et Dana s'occupent du matériel de marketing et des médias sociaux.

Quelle équipe merveilleuse ! 

 
LE TORRÉFACTEUR

Le cœur de nos opérations de torréfaction ! Nous possédons maintenant un Artisan XE Deluxe avec une capacité de torréfaction de 55 livres par heure et un logiciel de collecte de données de pointe qui nous permet de saisir jusqu'à 6 lectures différentes en même temps. Cela permet la répétabilité et garantit une cohérence étonnante à chaque torréfaction. L'Artisan XE utilise la technologie du lit fluidisé, apportant les normes industrielles de pointe que vous êtes en droit d'attendre de la Brûlerie artisanale Brown Bag. Le torréfacteur est fabriqué par notre partenaire Coffee Crafters, reconnu pour produire des torréfacteurs de la plus haute qualité utilisant les dernières technologies actuellement disponibles.

artisanXe

Vous pouvez être sûrs que vous offrir un café de la plus haute qualité et de la plus saine est notre priorité absolue, à laquelle nous avons pensé dès notre lancement, et non pas comme une réflexion après le fait.